Book Lights

Book List First Week : 1 – 10 March 2018

Book Lights Week 1

Book List First Week : 1 – 10 March 2018 – First I want to say, thank you for #NetGalley who has sent these books. And also to the author and publisher. I will enjoy it and write a review here.


The Ballad of Huck & Miguel by Tim DeRoche

Synopsis – In this retelling of Mark Twain’s The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn, Tim DeRoche dares to imagine that Huck Finn is alive today. Chased by his vengeful and psychotic father, Pap, Huck escapes down the concrete gash that is the Los Angeles River with his friend Miguel, an illegal immigrant who has been falsely accused of murder. Riding the dangerous waters of a rainstorm, the two fugitives meet a strange cast of Angelenos both animal and human who live down by the river. And they learn the true value of love and loyalty. The Ballad of Huck and Miguel is not only a thrilling urban adventure, but also an inspired tribute to one of the most beloved novels ever written. #Huckandmiguel #NetGalley

Publisher : Redtail Press

Genre : General Fiction (Adult) , Literary Fiction


 

The Cats of Butterwick Sands by Gabriella Thomas

Book List First Week : 1 – 10 March 2018

Synopsis – The Cats of Butterwick Sands is a children’s book following the various adventures of cats in a small run down seaside town called Butterwick Sands, a place that has seen better days; the hero being one special cat named Percy. He is a very clever and dignified cat and he is at the centre of all the adventures, stories and intrigues that the cats and other animals have. The other cats within the book are strays from across England and beyond – they come together to restore the funfair and caravan park, breathing life back into Butterwick and thus ensuring its survival. #ButterwickCats #NetGalley

Publisher : The Book Guild

Genre : Children’s Fiction , Outdoors & Nature


 

The 7½ Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle by Stuart Turton

Book List First Week : 1 – 10 March 2018

Synopsis – The Hardcastle family is hosting a masquerade at their home, and their daughter Evelyn Hardcastle will die. She will die everyday until Aiden Bishop is able identify her killer and break the cycle. But every time the day begins again, Aiden wakes up each day in a different  body as one of the guests. Aiden’s only escape is to solve Evelyn Hardcastle’s murder and conquer the shadows of an enemy he struggles to even comprehend. But nothing and no one are quite what they seem. Deeply atmospheric and ingeniously plotted, The 7½ Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle is a highly original debut that’s an Agatha Christie mystery in a Groundhog Day Loop, with a bit of Quantum Leap to it.  Perfect for fans of Kate Atkinson and Claire North. # The7½DeathsofEvelynHardcastle #NetGalley

Publisher : SOURCEBOOKS Landmark

Genre : Mystery & Thrillers


 

The Subway Girls by Susie Orman Schnall

Book List First Week : 1 – 10 March 2018

Synopsis – From the author of The Balance Project comes a dual-timeline narrative featuring a 1949 Miss Subways contestant and a modern-day advertising executive whose careers and lives intersect. In 1949, dutiful and ambitious Charlotte’s dream of a career in advertising is shattered when her father demands she help out with the family business. Meanwhile, Charlotte is swept into the glamorous world of the Miss Subways beauty contest, which promises irresistible opportunities with its Park Avenue luster and local fame status. But when her new friend—the intriguing and gorgeous fellow-participant Rose—does something unforgivable, Charlotte must make a heart-wrenching decision that will change the lives of those around her forever.

Nearly 70 years later, outspoken advertising executive Olivia is pitching the NYC subways account in a last ditch effort to save her job at an advertising agency. When the charismatic boss she’s secretly in love with pits her against her misogynistic nemesis, Olivia’s urgent search for the winning strategy leads her to the historic Miss Subways campaign. As the pitch date closes in on her, Olivia finds herself dealing with a broken heart, an unlikely new love interest, and an unexpected personal connection to Miss Subways that could save her job—and her future.

The Subway Girls is the charming story of two strong women, a generation apart, who find themselves up against the same eternal struggle to find an impossible balance between love, happiness, and ambition. #TheSubwayGirls #NetGalley

Publisher : St. Martin’s Press

Genre : Historical Fiction , Women’s Fiction

Tags
Show More

Artrias Setiawan

Happy diving with books and a cup of coffee. Therefore I made a book review, so that memories with words will not be lost. An ordinary woman who loves husband, family, books and coffee. Also hates sugar and other sweet foods. For professional business offers, please feel free contact: meandthebooks1@gmail.com

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Close