Children - Y/A

Review All The Bright Places By Jennifer Niven

All The Bright Place

Synopsis


Review All The  Bright Places By Jennifer Niven – Theodore Finch is fascinated by death, and he constantly thinks of ways he might kill himself. But each time, something good, no matter how small, stops him. Violet Markey lives for the future, counting the days until graduation, when she can escape her Indiana town and her aching grief in the wake of her sister’s recent death.

When Finch and Violet meet on the ledge of the bell tower at school, it’s unclear who saves whom. And when they pair up on a project to discover the ‘natural wonders’ of their state, both Finch and Violet make more important discoveries: It’s only with Violet that Finch can be himself – a weird, funny, live-out-loud guy who’s not such a freak after all. And it’s only with Finch that Violet can forget to count away the days and start living them. But as Violet’s world grows, Finch’s begins to shrink. How far will Violet go to save the boy she has come to love?

An intense, gripping novel, perfect for fans of John Green, Jay Asher, Rainbow Rowell, Gayle Forman and Jenny Downham. Selected as the launch title for the Zoella Book Club.’This book is amazing – I couldn’t put it down’ – Zoe Sugg aka Zoella’A searingly honest and heartbreakingly poignant tale about the power and beauty of love’ – Heat’Sparkling’ – Entertainment Weekly

Book Review


First thing I would like to say is that in All All Bright Places, Jennifer Niven is not preaching to her novel  readers. What she does is laying out a very clear picture so that I, an adult, can be very affected when reading her story.

As previously told, Theodore Finch is a boy who is obsessed with death. He constantly thinks about suicide, suicide plans and never waking up again. But then his meeting with Violet Markey on the top of the bell tower at school changes everything. Well, all his friends would never care about Finch “the freak.” But everyone would be shocked to know that the one who is standing with eagerness to leap from the bell is Violet. Ironically, it is that meeting that makes Finch survive his life. It is Violet who wakes him up from his darkest thoughts. On the other hand, Violet herself is trying to hold on to life and overcome her own aching grief following the recent death of her sister.

Honestly, reading this novel will make you hold your breath throughout. The story is entirely related to depression, sadness, death and suicide. In real life this teenage problems do exist and there are many who fall victims. But Niven wrote this novel in such a beautiful way. Each character is perfectly described. They feel so real that the story really stirs your emotions. Some parts would even make you feel scared and want to curl up.

Regardless of all the issues raised in this novel, it does make us aware of the mental health difficulties. I can almost feel how those who suffer it have to struggle just to wake up every day. But how many teenagers or even adults are willing to admit it? Most of us would just try to hide into the shell and choose to believe that everything is fine.

I hear that so many other readers are impressed with the story and characters of this novel. It might be fiction, but the issues do happen in real life. So you have no reason not to read this novel even if you’re not a fan of The Fault in Our Stars.

Bold Line


I think : Never late to read this

Page length : 432 pages

Publisher / date : Penguin Books Ltd, 01 Aug 2015

Good

  • Open minded
  • Touching feelings
  • Deep and real meaning

Bad

Sometimes it makes you guilty but don’t think about it

Character
Plot
Story

Honestly, reading this novel will make you hold your breath throughout. The story is entirely related to depression, sadness, death and suicide. In real life this teenage problems do exist and there are many who fall victims. But Niven wrote this novel in such a beautiful way. Each character is perfectly described. They feel so real that the story really stirs your emotions. Some parts would even make you feel scared and want to curl up.

Tags
Show More

Artrias Setiawan

Happy diving with books and a cup of coffee. Therefore I made a book review, so that memories with words will not be lost. An ordinary woman who loves husband, family, books and coffee. Also hates sugar and other sweet foods. For professional business offers, please feel free contact: meandthebooks1@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Close